What to do?

I can’t remember when it started, I think I can remember when it got worse. The constant pain in my body. Mostly my mussels, but also joints in general. And then a few months ago something happened. I met this girl when I was traveling, she had her hair braided, a lot of braids and I liked the way it looked. A few hours later I saw her again, we both were traveling with the same bus so this happened at one of the stops, but know she was in this wheelchair. My mind kept thinking about what possibly could be the reason that she had to use a wheelchair. Instead of just wondering, I asked her about it. She told me that she has EDS.

Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome
When you have EDS, you have an connective tissue disorder which can cause a lot of different symptoms. The girl I met had hyper mobile joints, a lot of pain and a super soft skin. There are a lot of other symptoms but these are the ones she has.

Hyper Mobility Syndrome (HMS)/ Joint Hyper-Mobility Syndrome (JMS)
At first she was diagnosed with HMS/JMS,her joints where hyper mobile and her mussels would hurt all the time. Later on they took a closer look to her skin and found out that it was super soft and didn’t react to anesthesia correctly. It meant that she had EDS in stead of HMS/JMS.

Why am I telling you all of this? The answer is that I can’t get it out of my head. I am sure that I do not have EDS but I did some online digging and it all matches up. It is not that I want to have this, but it would all make sense if I have this. I have been diagnosed with some other illnesses and if you would put it all together you would have the HMS/JMS package. So I am just writing this down in order to get it out of my head.

Now that this is all written down, I am going to study some more for my two last exams! Which me luck! Oh and if you, the person reading this, have JMS/ HMS/ EDS, what should I do, just get it out of my head or talk to someone with a medical training?

With love,
Hailey

Leave a comment